Hills District Basketball Association Inc.

33rd Annual General Meeting

22 June 2023 – Hills Basketball Stadium

Meeting Opened

Meeting was opened at 8.01pm by the President, Russell Graham. RG welcomed all members and extended a special welcome HBA Life Members Mitzi Crawford, Trish Nicholls, Steve Nicholls, Kathleen Parker, Lauretta Claus, Jim Roditis, Paul Nelson, Ros Graham. RG himself is also a life member.

Present:

The following committee members were present or present via Teams online:

Name	Role
Russell Graham (RG)	President
Mitzi Crawford (MC)	Vice President
Olivia Nicholls (ON)	Secretary
Paul Nelson (PN)	Treasurer
Jaymes Murray (JM)	Committee Member
Robert Davidson (RD)	Committee Member
Michael Paino (MP)	Committee Member
Steve Burke (SB)	CEO
Darrell Anderson	Observer

Members signed the attendance register or were noted if online and attendees were:

Steve Burke, Mitzi Crawford, Russell Graham, Olivia Nicholls, Michael Paino, Paul Nelson, Robert Davidson, Jim Roditis, Ros Graham, Darrell Anderson

Present via Teams:

Jaymes Murray, Lauretta Claus, Trish Nicholls, Steve Nicholls, Kathleen Parker

Acknowledgement of Country - RG

Apologies:

Apologies were received from:

Lesley Steel, Daniel Giffney, Pat Mahony

Minutes of the 2022 AGM:

Motion: That the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 23 June 2022 be accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved Paul Nelson, Seconded Steve Nicholls. Motion carried unanimously.

Business arising from the Minutes:

• N/A

Presidents Report:

• Darrell Anderson introduced as taking on Company Secretary role in the new constitution.

RG spoke to his written report and noted:

- High number of teams in local competition and high levels of people trialling for representative teams.
- Work continues at Bernie Mullane with netball courts and café.
- Did not receive West Invest grant
- Thanks to DA and PN for assisting with the new legal entity. Will occur on 1/7/23.
- Reviewing management of data and related policies.
- CoM members have completed training courses
- CoM now access a new online portal for document storage
- Thanks to Steve, HBA staff and volunteers.

CEO's Report:

SB provided a written report, and highlighted the following:

- A number of highlights/events throughout the year and lots of success
- Inaugural season of NBL1 some positives and some difficulties of a semi-professional league
- Local competition continues to grow and remains covered with badged officials.
- Glory league installed. Supports local competition players. Very popular overall.
- Officials outstanding achievements throughout year
- Representative team achievements noted.
- Finished up link with Blue Hornets. National league is not going ahead.
- We now have a viable grass roots wheelchair program. Acknowledgement to Danielle D'Morias for her efforts.
- Increasing popularity of basketball means lack of facilities and other competitions. HBA continues to provide what we do at the best level.
- Respect the Game Campaign more signage being installed.
- Thank you to all for support.

• Reports:

Reports contained in the 2022 Annual Report were tabled as follows:

- President
- o CEO
- o Financial Reports

Motion: That the 2022 Annual Report be accepted.

Moved: Michael Paino Seconded: Jim Roditis. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion: That the 2022 Financial Report be accepted.

Moved: Robert Davidson Seconded: Lauretta Claus. Motion carried unanimously.

Election of Committee of Management Members:

In accordance with the Constitution, the following positions were declared vacant:

Vice President, Treasurer and 1 x Committee Member

Vice President Position:

1 nominee for this position:

1. Mitzi Crawford

Treasurer Position:

1 nominee for this position:

1. Paul Nelson

2 x Committee Member Position:

2 nominees for these positions:

1. Robert Davidson

All positions filled as nominated.

Annual General Meeting Minutes

The Executive Committee Members are:

Name	Role
Russell Graham (RG)	President
Mitzi Crawford (MC)	Vice President
Olivia Nicholls (ON)	Secretary
Paul Nelson (PN)	Treasurer
Jaymes Murray (JM)	Committee Member
Robert Davidson (RD)	Committee Member
Michael Paino (MP)	Committee Member
Steve Burke (SB)	CEO

Life Membership Nominations:

No life membership nominations.

General Business:

Open Floor:

• Life membership nominations. Still in process of revamping how to make the selections.

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 8.25pm.

Signed as a true record of the meeting

Russell Graham – President Date