# Hills District Basketball Association Inc.

# **30th Annual General Meeting**

27 August 2020 – Hills Basketball Stadium

## **Meeting Opened**

Meeting was opened at 8.05pm by the President, Russell Graham. RG welcomed all members and extended a special welcome HBA Life Members Mitzi Crawford, Trish Nicholls, Steve Nicholls, Kathleen Parker, Loretta Claus and Paul Nelson. Steve Burke acknowledged RG as a Life Member of HBA.

## Present:

The following committee members were present or present via Zoom:

Name	Role
Russell Graham (RG)	President
Mitzi Crawford (MC) [Zoom]	Vice President
Jaymes Murray (JM)	Secretary
Olivia Nicholls (ON)	Committee Member
Marinette Impreso (MI) [Zoom]	Committee Member
Damien Power (DP) [Zoom]	Committee Member
Lyle Vallance (LV)	Treasurer
Steve Burke (SB)	CEO

Members signed the attendance register and attendees were:

Steve Burke, Trevor Dpenha, Ros Graham, Russell Graham, Greg Marshall, Jaymes Murray, Paul Nelson, Olivia Nicholls, Kathleen Parker, Grant Tester, Lyle Vallance

### Present via Zoom:

Eric Claus, Lauretta Claus, Mitzi Crawford, Emils Duselis, Nick Graham, Tim Graham, Marinette Impreso, Trish Nicholls, Steven Nicholls, George Papadopoulos, Damien Power, Graham Steele, Lesley Steele,

## Apologies:

Apologies were received from:

Jun Bagus, Evan Bennett, Janet Blanch, Daniel Giffney, Richard Howard, Tracey Hudson, Jo-Ann Marshall, Jann Partyka, Jim Roditis, Jo Taylor, Michael Taylor, Angus Wildblood,

## Minutes of the 2019 AGM:

Motion: That the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 27 June, 2019 be accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved Lauretta Claus, Seconded Trevor Dpenha. Motion carried unanimously.

### Business arising from the Minutes:

- SB advised that life members policy review is ongoing.
- SB advised that the constitution changes approved at the 2019 AGM are on hold due to Covid-19.
- SB responded to Kathleen Parker's query about emergency evacuations etc. SB advised that a Masterplan has been created by Council for the area, which proposes an additional exit road near the pony club. SB noted that that at this stage, there are no funds allocated to the FCR Masterplan.

### Presidents Report:

RG spoke to his written report. He congratulated Lauretta Claus on her recent induction into the Basketball NSW Hall of Fame. RG advised that changes to the constitution and strategic plans and the like are currently paused due to the current pandemic. He also highlighted the efforts of staff throughout the current crisis. RG noted that our volunteers and staff have been amazing and extremely tolerant and patient throughout a difficult time.

## CEO's Report:

SB provided a written report, and highlighted the following:

- SB voiced his pride in our staff, volunteers and entire community for their efforts during extraordinary times.
- All indications are that demand for basketball remains very high with competitions and skills sessions under huge demand.
- 'I Am A Girl' program needs special mention and efforts under way to create more traction and conversion with participants.
- Under 14's had great results at Australian Club Championships for both the boys and girls' teams.

## **Reports:**

Reports contained in the 2019 Annual Report were tabled as follows:

- o President
- o CEO
- o Financial Reports

Motion: That the 2019 Annual Report be accepted.

Moved: Paul Nelson Seconded: Lyle Vallance. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion: That the 2019 Financial Report be accepted.

Moved: Paul Nelson Seconded: Lyle Vallance. Motion carried unanimously.

## Election of Committee of Management Members:

In accordance with the Constitution, the following positions were declared vacant:

#### **Annual General Meeting Minutes**

President, Secretary and 2 x Committee Members

#### President Position:

1 nominee for this position:

1. Russell Graham

#### Secretary Position:

1 nominee for this position:

1. Jaymes Murray

### 2 x Committee Member Positions:

2 nominees for these positions:

- 1. Marinette Impreso
- 2. Olivia Nicholls

All positions filled as nominated.

The Executive Committee Members are:

Name	Role
Russell Graham (RG)	President
Mitzi Crawford (MC)	Vice president
Jaymes Murray (JM)	Secretary
Lyle Vallance (LV)	Treasurer
Olivia Nicholls (ON)	Committee Member
Marinette Impreso (MI)	Committee Member
Damien Power (DP)	Committee Member
Steve Burke (SB)	CEO

### **General Business:**

• Special Resolution re. Life Members – CoM recommended that Mike Brotherson, Ros Graham and Jo Taylor be awarded Life Membership of HBA. Motion passed unanimously.

Open Floor:

• RG called for questions from the floor and, as there were no responses, RG ended the meeting on a note of thanks to the Hornets community.

### There being no further business, the meeting closed at 8.40pm.

Signed as a true record of the meeting

Russell Graham – President Date